Is Everyone Insecure?

March 6, 2007

You know I thought it was just me. really. I have thought since I’ve been a teenager that I was one of the few that were insecure about my decisions and abilities. It has been a great revelation to listen to Chip Ingram’s podcast about relationships. To understand that everyone is insecure and I am not unique: that is a revelation of gigantic proportions. To understand that my boss (who is a detail power freak) is really just insecure about his position and what he is doing. When I look at him in that light I am able to deal with his behavior by telling myself I know what that’s like to insecure about my work and that some of his nitpicking, well, I should just understand and do it.

Don’t get me wrong I’m not insecure about everything. Just some decisions that have to be made in a hurry, a job change, working on my truck and work car and some decisions about my kids and their futures. Oh yea add to that teaching. Some of those things everyone is insecure over. Knowing my weaknesses will make me stronger.

So if you get a chance check out Chip Ingram’s podcasts he has a very good series of podcasts going on now. (Past ones are good too)

2 Responses to “Is Everyone Insecure?”


  1. Man, I’m too busy to be too insecure. My job is full of folks who have black belts in administration, and I’m waiting for them to catch up with my half-assed-ness. Until then I just enjoy doing my best.
    http://westernqueensland.wordpress.com/2007/03/05/saved-st-patrick/

  2. joyfarm6 Says:

    Thanks for the comment.
    I can see your point, maybe busyness hides insecurity. I know it did for me in the restaurant business when I worked 75-90 hours per week. I did not have time to think over or over think problems. But I believe I still had the concern that I was one of the few to having feelings of insecurity. I guess I was forced to make the decisions with out second thoughts.
    And I can relate to the feeling that one day they are going to catch up with me…
    Check out the podcast, Chip make the point much better than I do.


Leave a Reply

