Salvation Project

April 23, 2007

Here are the plans for my first podcast. The title will be Salvation Project and the idea is to interview Christians that are; friends, family, church members and podcasters. Maybe I could even get a few authors and business people. The idea came about because I lead a book study on Pilgrims Progress. Bunyan and the Puritans were big on asking “what was your salvation experience?”

I believe we as Christians today tend to not talk about our salvation experience, what a shame. Are we ashamed, unsure? maybe we don’t think it’s all that important. That tells me something is wrong, the salvation experience is the beginning of our journey, our second birth (into God’s family).

We celebrate physical birthdays, why not spiritual ones? Won’t they mean more to us in the long run? So that is the spring board for my podcast. I have a few projects to wrap up and a commitment to finish and I will be ready to start. More than likely late summer, or early fall. So if you’re reading this and think that sounds interesting make a comment and share your experience or even better volunteer to be one of the Christians I interview.

My plan for now is an edited type of podcast where the interviewer’s voice is rarely heard. I’ve heard several NPR radio shows with the style which I plan to use. One that I remember is a podcast called StoryCorps and it is about African Americans telling about the person who had the most positive influence on them when they were growing up. It’s a great podcast and several of the stories are very moving. My podcast need not be always touching or unique because my goal is to make this a thing we as Christians do more often. How better to lead people to Christ, than our testimony of how Christ saved us.

2 Responses to “Salvation Project”

  1. Bill Says:

    Hi,

    That sounds like a good idea.

    When I go out witnessing, I ask a lot of people why they think they’re going to get into heaven. Maybe it’s because of the places I hang out, but those who claim to be Christians usually have a very poor understanding of the gospel. Even last night in a Bible study, the pastor’s 14 year old son was asked how he got saved, and he said that he’s always been a Christian.

    I think you’re going to end up finding that a lot of the people you ask about this will have really strange stories, like they like Christmas, so they became Christians, or they became Christians by going to church. I think a lot of average Christians need to have the gospel explained to them in a one on one setting.

    I hope it works out.

    Bill

  2. joyfarm6 Says:

    Thanks for the comment. I really like your blog, I cannot wait to spend a little time reading your posts. Lately I’ve have become concerned about Christian’s salvation experience. What I hope to help by the podcast is for Christians to talk about thier salvation and what it means. Thanks again and I’ll be sure to add your blog to my blogroll soon.


Leave a Reply

