What On Earth Have I Done?

November 10, 2007

Robert Fulghum’s new book is wonderful so far… I really enjoy his works. Reading this book opens my mind to what’s around me, like a fresh breeze. After a while with out some reflection and solitude I seem to get a black and white view of the world.

As the title of the post suggests that is his thesis- “What On Earth Have I Done?” An interesting question because he poses the question as a Mother asking a child “WOEHYD”. Then he puts the question as to an adult’s life. Same question-different meaning altogether.

The chapters are short vignettes, which after read seem to stick in my mind wait for a chance to be applied. An example would be the story of his quest to rid his house boat of Otters. Success really didn’t have the intended result; less stink but a loss of playfulness and curiosity in his world. Another, how his house was valued less than he thought it was worth, and the reasons why were the reasons he discovered that added value to his life.

Fulghum tells a story about a couple of college students who eat a dining room chair… yea, really!… now you’ll have to read the book.

2 Responses to “What On Earth Have I Done?”

  1. drugs Says:

    Roses are red, sky is blue, you’re a better writer than me for sure, lol 😉

  2. joyfarm6 Says:

    Thanks for the comment, I think… I like your site with the interesting facts.


Leave a Reply

